Today in coincidences and the athlete-magnet

There are little coincidences which happen every so often which are too coincidential to be a coincidence. This happened to me today. I was phoning my grandmother on my mobile when the phone rang downstairs. Guess who it was.

We got talking about Danny Willett winning the Masters. While I generally find golf a terrible bore, Willett interests me as he grew up literally two minutes away from me, the son of the vicar who married some of my cousins and recently buried my uncle’s brother. On a happier note I should also point out he’s a Sheffield United fan, which is always a plus in my book (COYRAWW!).

I seem to have a bit of a knack for attracting famous athletes to my distantly-close circle. I was in the same class at school as England cricketer Joe Root and Jessica Ennis was several years above me. The kicker is I’m absolutely terrible at sports, unless you count Mario Tennis.

Leave a Reply

