A conversation with Eliza

Eliza was born in the 60s. At the time, many people thought her to be completely human, and her realism drove her creator Joe Weizenbaum into preaching the evils of artificial intelligence. However, she would pass no Turing tests today. Let’s take her for a spin:

E: Hello, I am Eliza.
S: Hi, I’m Sinead.
E: Do you believe it is normal to be Sinead?
S: Definitely not!
E: Tell me more…
S: I am not a normal person at all.
E: Do you believe it is normal to be not a normal person at all?
S: Very much so.
E: Tell me more…
S: It’s pretty hard to define normal, but I’m not normal in that my way of thinking differs from that of the control population.
E: Did you come to me because you are not normal in that your way of thinking differs from that of the control population?
S: No, I came to you for something for my blog. Hope you don’t mind 🙂
E: We were discussing you, not me.
S: Were we?
E: OK… “No, you came to me for something for your blog. Hope me don’t mind :)”. Tell me more.
S: Well, my blog is an experimental writing blog, and I have an interest in early computer programs which attempt to simulate human behaviour.
E: What do you think machines have to do with your problems?
S: Nothing.
E: OK… “Well, your blog is an experimental writing blog, and you have an interest in early computer programs which attempt to simulate human behaviour”. Tell me more.
S: Well, the quote marks aren’t necessary when you’re paraphrasing me.
E: Perhaps you would like to be paraphrasing you?
S: Maybe.
E: Can’t you be more positive?
S: I try.
E: OK… “Well, the quote marks aren’t necessary when I’m paraphrasing me”. Tell me more.
S: Oh, how I wish you’d learn.

Leave a Reply

